Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Join
News & Press: National News

National Trig-Star Winners Announced

Wednesday, August 9, 2017  
Posted by: Amber Carpenter
Share |

National Trig-Star Committee Selects Winners of the Richard E. Lomax National Trig-Star and Teaching Excellence Awards

The National Society of Professional Surveyors (NSPS) is pleased to announce the recipients of the 2017 Richard E. Lomax National Trig -Star Awards. The Trig-Star committee met on July 29, 2017 to determine the three top high school students from the national examinations submitted by state winners. This year there were thirty-five state winners submitted. A past president of NSPS, Richard Lomax was the driving force behind the elevation of the local Trig-Star program to the national level. In October 1994, Board action named this high school trigonometry skill award in his honor. 

The Richard E. Lomax National Trig-Star Awards are as follows:
First Place: Treyan Fitzwater, Clearfield High School, Clearfield, Utah
Second Place: Jathan Mentzer, Williamsport High School, Williamsport, Maryland
Third Place: Joseph Kovac, Macomb Math Science Technology Center, Warren, Michigan

The Richard E. Lomax National Teaching Excellence Awards are as follows:
First Place: Ashley Martin, Clearfield High School, Clearfield, Utah
Second Place: Susan Kaltenbaugh, Williamsport High School, Williamsport, Maryland
Third Place: Kincaid Dewey, Macomb Math Science Technology Center High School, Warren, Michigan

The first place student receives $2,000, second place student receives $1,000, and third place student receives $500. The first place teacher receives $1,000, second place teacher receives $500, and third place teacher receives $250. The Trig -Star Policy states that “the National Student and Teacher Awards be given to the winning students at or before the next state professional land surveying organization conference of the student’s home state.”

The following is a list of the remaining State Winners in the order of finish: Nolan Poczekay, Indiana; Caleb Noble, Montana; Drake Thomas, Alaska; Maxwell, Jiang, Texas; Griffin Smith, South Dakota; Ashish Kalakunela, Nevada; Yiwei Lyu, Pennsylvania; Haoxiang Zhang, Connecticut; Jason D’Amico, Maine; Chatchanun, Suriyaammaranon, Wisconsin; Noah Paladino, New Jersey; Junhee Lee, Iowa; Eric J. Pabon Cancel, Puerto Rico; Saowapak Hanpadungkit, Washington; Grace Smith, New Hampshire; Sarah Jones, Oregon; Nicholas Cordero, Massachusetts; Jacob Ewy, Kansas; Saisupritha Talasu, Illinois; Naveen Makkar, Ohio; Briya Miller, Delaware; Dawson Stokes, Idaho; William Zhang, Alabama; Jennifer Aklilu, Colorado; Mya Steinwehr, North Dakota; Ellie Laudenslayer, Kentucky; April Lyn Cintron, Georgia; Micah Link, Minnesota; Alex Tew, South Carolina; Makenna Parkinson, California; Grace Tanner, Wyoming; Cassy Doebler, Missouri.

The Richard E. Lomax National Trig-Star and Teaching Excellence Awards are a two of several annual NSPS awards. For more information about the NSPS awards and scholarship programs, please contact NSPS, 5119 Pegasus Court, Frederick, MD 21704, (240) 439-4615, e-mail: Trish Milburn at trisha.milburn, or visit the NSPS web site at

146 Washington Avenue
Land Surveyors Building
Albany, NY 12210
518-432-4046 -- (f) 518-432-4055

Membership Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal