Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Join
News & Press: National News

National Trig-Star Winners Announced

Tuesday, July 17, 2018   (0 Comments)
Posted by: Amber Carpenter
Share |

National Trig-Star Committee Selects Winners of the Richard E.
Lomax National Trig-Star and Teaching Excellence Awards

The National Society of Professional Surveyors (NSPS) is pleased to announce the recipients of the 2018 Richard E. Lomax National Trig-Star Awards. The Trig-Star committee met on July 6, 2018 to determine the three top high school students from the national examinations submitted by state winners. This year there were thirty-four state winners submitted. A past president of NSPS, Richard Lomax was the driving force behind the elevation of the local Trig-Star program to the national level. In October 1994, Board action named this high school trigonometry skill award in his honor.

The Richard E. Lomax National Trig-Star Awards are as follows:

First Place: Austin Mazenko, Cherry Creek High School, Greenwood Village, CO

Second Place: Taryn Trigler, Ben Eielson Sr. High School, Eielson AFB, AL

Third Place:        Haoxiang Zhang, Fairfield College Prepatory, Fairfield, CT

 The Richard E. Lomax National Teaching Excellence Awards are as follows:
First Place: Jim Padavic, Cherry Creek High School, Greenwood Village, CO
Second Place: Natalya Medvedeva, Ben Eielson Sr. High School, Eielson AFB, AL
Third Place: Katherine Brennan, Fairfield College Prepatory, Fairfield, CT

The first place student receives $2,000, second place student receives $1,000, and third place student receives $500. The first place teacher receives $1,000, second place teacher receives $500, and third place teacher receives $250. The Trig-Star Policy states that "the National Student and Teacher Awards be given to the winning students at or before the next state professional land surveying organization conference of the student's home state."

The following is a list of the remaining State Winners in the order of finish:

Collin Free, Utah; Yash Gallapudi, Illinois; Kyle Tran, Kansas; Qingfeng Li, Wyoming; Katherine Achbach, South Dakota; Jathan Metzer, Maryland; Eric Wang, Alabama; Spencer Rhodes, Nevada; David Simonetti, Indiana; Damian Schwarber, Kentucky; Galen Penvenne, California; Alex Tew, South Carolina; Philip Billingsley, Idaho; Kai Burgman, Washington; Alex Ni, Texas; Mason Falk, North Dakota; Enver Aman, New Jersey; Judy Tolaymat, North Carolina; Grace Smith, New Hampshire; Isabella Palomba; Michigan; Robert Sunderhaft, Ohio; Afnaan Hashmi, Minnesota; Ian McLendon, Georgia; Cassandra Gauthier, Wisconsin; Jenna Philippe, Pennsylvania; Nicholas Merrill, Maine; Briya Miller, Delaware; Connor Shaw, Montana; Joshua Theodore, Massachusetts; Haley Mahusay, Missouri; Andy Carter, Oregon.


These Awards are a few of several annual NSPS awards. For more information about the NSPS awards and scholarship programs, please contact NSPS, 5119 Pegasus Court, Frederick, MD 21704, (240) 439-4615, e-mail: Trisha Milburn at, or visit the NSPS web site at


NSPS News and Views 7/11/18

146 Washington Avenue
Land Surveyors Building
Albany, NY 12210
518-432-4046 -- (f) 518-432-4055

Membership Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal